Hillsboro Transit Center Grand Opening Ceremony March 31


NASHVILLE, TENNESSEE – The new Hillsboro Transit Center will mark its grand opening with a ribbon-cutting at 11 a.m. Thursday, March 31.

Remarks will be given by Nashville Mayor John Cooper, Director of Metro Nashville Public Schools Dr. Adrienne Battle, WeGo CEO Steve Bland, MNPS School Board Member Gini Pupo-Walker, Council Member Russ Pulley, and Nashville MTA Board Chair Gail Carr Williams.

“We celebrate the grand opening of the Hillsboro Transit Center and thank all of our partners and key stakeholders for their support,” Carr Williams said. “The center will provide riders with a safe, efficient, and comfortable waiting experience.” 

The center is adjacent to Hillsboro High School on 3812 Hillsboro Pike, Nashville, TN 37215. The project is a collaboration between WeGo Public Transit, Metro Nashville Public Schools, the Tennessee Department of Transportation, and the Nashville Department of Transportation.

“WeGo has been a great partner to Metro Schools in making it possible for many of our students to get to school and back at no cost through the StrIDe program,” Battle stated. “The Hillsboro Transit Center extends our partnership by serving as a model for how we can work together on the physical infrastructure that will better serve not only our students but also the entire community.” 

“I’m thrilled our community will soon have the Hillsboro Transit Center,” Pulley said. “It will serve Hillsboro Pike and provide crosstown routes to connect our neighborhoods.”   

The Hillsboro Transit Center will provide riders with the comfort of covered bus bays, climate-controlled waiting rooms, real-time bus information, phone charging stations, and exterior waiting areas. The ADA infrastructure is equipped with Wi-Fi, ticket vending machines, and lighting improvements. The area is currently served by route 7 Hillsboro Pike with future expansions of nearby routes, including 17 12th Avenue South on April 3.

About WeGo Public Transit

The Nashville Metropolitan Transit Authority (Nashville MTA) and the Regional Transportation Authority (RTA) are operating bodies of WeGo Public Transit, which serves 26 local bus routes, eight regional bus routes, and one train serving Davidson and Wilson Counties. Visit WeGoTransit.com.