Mobility and transportation leaders from around the world last week announced the launch of the Commission on the Future of Mobility, “to identify opportunities across transportation and technology silos and propose a fundamentally new vision for transportation policy for people and goods.” Members include:

  • Dr. Jared Cohon, president emeritus, Carnegie Mellon University (Commission co-chair) and chair of the Board on Energy and Environmental Systems of the National Academies of Science, Engineering and Medicine.
  • Jim Hackett, senior advisor and former president and CEO, Ford Motor Company (Commission co-chair).
  • Thierry Mallet, chairman and CEO of Transdev Group (Commission co-chair).
  • Jason Grumet, founder and president of the Bipartisan Policy Center.
  • Richard Kramer, chairman, CEO, and president of the Goodyear Tire & Rubber Company.
  • Steven Mollenkopf, CEO of Qualcomm.
  • José Muñoz, Global COO, Hyundai Motor Company; president and CEO, Hyundai Motor North America and Hyundai Motor America.
  • Frederick W. Smith, chairman and CEO of FedEx Corp.
  • Cox Automotive.

Founded in research and advocacy, the Commission will provide new data and methodologies to drive innovative policy that optimizes across five areas for a cleaner environment, enhanced security, economic opportunity, safety, and access,” read a press release. The Commission is being organized within SAFE, a nonprofit organization focused on the future of transportation. It is still recruiting members.

Read the whole release here.